Skip to content

UFO Mondays: This Isn’t Gonna Work

December 2, 2013

It’s that time of the semester. Thanksgiving “Break” is over, final exam period is looming, and I have a whole bunch of stuff to get done before I get to head home for the holidays. I made my Doomsday list this morning, and I’m not quite sure how I feel about it this time. There are only a few big projects on it since I have a lighter class and teaching load, but there’s still a lot to be done. If I stay on schedule, things should be manageable (and I may even avoid my semi-annual breakdown).

I did a lot of crafty things over Thanksgiving, and I was hoping to finish my Glynis socks. And I kind of did…
Too Small GlynisIt’s hard to see in this photo because of the camo effect, but one sock is crazy smaller than the other!
Glynis SpooningSmall enough that they can spoon!

These socks were knit using the same yarn and needles, and the second was knit following the meticulous notes I took while working on the first…approximately four years ago.

These are a great illustration of two lessons: 1) Gauge really does change. It’s not something that pattern or needle companies made up to annoy knitters, so you definitely need to check it. Your gauge with the same materials probably won’t be the same as mine, and everyone’s can change over time. 2) Even experienced knitters mess up. I totally should have caught this problem before kitchenering the toe, but I was blissfully knitting along and didn’t check my work. I’ll know better next time.

I’m trying to stick with my projects these days, so instead of putting these in time out, I’m going to rip out and re-do that second sock sometime this week. Sweetie shouldn’t have to wait to get some new handknit socks on his feet.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Plaid Plan | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

