Skip to content

Appreciating Archer

December 3, 2013
tags:

I don’t miss much about my last apartment (the heating bills, the commute, the crazy landlord…), but I definitely miss the cutting table that was the perfect height to save my back. I appreciate it even more now that I’m back to scooting around on the floor to cut out my sewing projects. So when we packed up my stuff to go to Sweetie’s for the week of Thanksgiving Break, I brought along a whole bunch of projects that were ready to be cut out so I could take advantage of the nice, big tables in his sculpture studio.

Archer

The first project to hit the cutting table was an Archer shirt in a pumpkin colored linen blend that I’ve been eager to start sewing for a while now. I had already muslined the top and knew I didn’t have to make many alterations, so I traced the pattern pieces and cut out the shirt on my first day there and got sewing while Sweetie was cooking for Thanksgiving.

archerbutton

Little did I know that some bloggers were putting together Archer Appreciation Month! For once I’m right on time! I have to admit, I wasn’t all that excited when this pattern originally came out–I just don’t think the sample shirt does the pattern justice. But when I saw all of the beautiful Archers popping up all over the blogosphere, I had to give it a shot.

Thanks to taking the time to try some techniques out in a muslin and using the sewalong blog posts as well as some other shirtmaking resources, I’m happy to report that this project is going pretty smoothly! The pocket is properly aligned, the sleeve plackets aren’t wonky, and best of all, this shirt is just as tidy on the inside as it is on the outside: I used Margaret Islander’s “burrito” method to encase the entire yoke, and I’m French seaming everything else. I only hope that I can get some good photos when this shirt is finished–I’ve tried to take some detailed shots during construction, but they tend to end up blaze orange!

Leave a Reply

