Skip to content

Sweet as Honey

December 6, 2013

Honey CowlI recently finished knitting my Honey cowl, and it’s one of those all around perfect projects. The yarn is gorgeous, the pattern was lovely to knit, and the finished product is exactly what I imagined. The modeled shot above really doesn’t do it justice (although it does show off the snow in State College before Thanksgiving), so let’s take a close look at this beautiful yarn.
Honey CowlI chose this yarn in particular because I loved the semisolid green colorway and because it wouldn’t shed if I knit this project while wearing dark clothes. That’s sort of a silly reason to choose a yarn, but it’s an important consideration for meeting/lecture/workshop knitting.
Honey CowlThe slipped stitch pattern of the Honey cowl was the perfect way to show off this colorway: it has just enough texture to be interesting, but it keeps the focus on the yarn. I cast on somewhere between the two sizes on the pattern and kept knitting until I had used as much of this yarn as possible. Perfection.

Honey CowlPattern: Honey Cowl by Madelinetosh
Yarn: 1 skein Malabrigo Arroyo
Needles: US 7 bamboo circulars
Made for: me
Timeline: 11 September – 7 November 2013
Modifications: knit between the sizes
Worst Part: twisting my work before joining it
Best Part: the yarn. it’s all about the yarn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 6, 2013 2:36 pm

    I have one of these on needles but I’m alternating colors every four rows!

Leave a Reply

