Skip to content

Plaid Plan

December 9, 2013
tags: ,

I’ve been working away on my Archer shirt, and it’s so close to done! I’ve learned a lot along the way, and I can’t wait to share the finished shirt.

I usually talk about UFOs on Mondays, but there are only so many times you can look at my Glynis socks (I ripped and re-started that 2nd sock this weekend), and my other UFO project is tippy-top secret, so I’ll share the next sewing project in my queue.

Since I typically sew for an hour or two at night just before bed and don’t want to interrupt the flow of that sewing time once Archer is finished, I decided to take a break from writing during the daylight this weekend to cut out the plaid skirt I’ve been thinking about.
Plaid skirtI dug through my pattern stash and came up with Butterick 5613, a pleated skirt pattern with a wide waistband that I’ve been meaning to try for a while.

The fabric is a green and navy plaid flannel that I picked up during an after-Thanksgiving sale. Since this pattern isn’t lined and I want to wear the skirt with tights, I’m underlining the flannel with a traditional lining fabric. Hopefully this will also lend the flannel some body and keep it from wrinkling too badly.

With only four pieces, I thought it would be a cinch to match the plaids on this skirt. Was I ever wrong! It turns out that the grain of this fabric has been badly warped, and matching the plaids just isn’t going to be a possibility. I’m hoping the pleats mask the warping, but perfectionist me is twitching about the whole thing.

Only a few more days of writing before my seminar papers are turned in and I can spend some quality time at my sewing machine to knock a few things off my list before our greatly anticipated trip home to Minnesota for the holidays! I can’t wait!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

