Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Aran in My Dreams

December 11, 2013
tags:

Every semester as a graduate student is a rough finish. By this point, I’ve been going so strong with so many balls in the air for so long that I’m ready for a nice long break. And that break is coming! Next week we head to Minnesota for 2.5 weeks, and while I’m going to bring my work with me, I get to spend a ton of time with friends and family in my home state. Problem is, it’s not next week yet. This is the week of deadlines, when my head needs to be in my writing, but I’m daydreaming about next week already.

There’s one thing that I’ve been daydreaming about for a while now that I know I can’t have: a cream aran sweater. I’m not quite sure what my deal is here since I’ve never really been attracted to traditional aran patterns in traditional colors before.

But wouldn’t this I Heart Aran pattern be lovely with its sweet shawl collar?

I Heart Aran

Or this Jess’ Birthday Sweater?

Jess Birthday Sweater

Really, it comes back to my plaid skirt–I think a fitted aran sweater in cream would look just perfect with it despite the fact that I already have lots of styling ideas that involve items of clothing that are already in my closet.

Anyway, it doesn’t matter because I most certainly do not have room in my crafting queue for a whole stinking sweater before the holidays. Even if it is in worsted weight…and would be adorable…and I’m fast at cabling…and I could knit it on the couch in Minnesota while I hang out with my mom…

If you’re knitting an aran sweater, do me a favor and link to your project in the comments. I need to knit vicariously.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2013 7:22 pm

    I love Aran sweaters and those are gorgeous. I’m afraid I will only be an enabler here. 🙂 I’m working on this: http://www.twistcollective.com/collection/component/content/article/136-shop/winter-2013-patterns/1640-tarian-by-thayer-preece-Parker which is not a traditional Aran, but still beautiful. Did you notice Knitty.com’s winter issue though? Quite a few Aran patterns, which is awesome!!

    Yeah, sorry..you will only get support from me on this subject…!

    • December 13, 2013 8:15 am

      You are either a very good or a very bad enabler! I’m trying to stay strong, but the yarn shop is so close!

Leave a Reply

