Skip to content

Pumpkin Archer

December 13, 2013

It’s Friday, and I’ve checked some big projects off my list this week. I’m finished with my coursework for the semester, which means I only have one more semester of taking classes before I can move on to the next stage of my doctoral program: studying for comprehensive exams!

I’m having a loungey kind of day with a little bit of writing, a little bit of preparation for next semester, and a lot of time in comfy clothes. It seemed like the perfect time to share some photos of my Archer shirt in linen, the most relaxed of the fibers. I’m so bummed that these are just timer photos (side note: if you have an iPhone timer app that actually takes good quality photos, let me know), but I just couldn’t wait for my long-distance Sweetie to do a photoshoot to share this shirt.
Pumpkin ArcherI took a bunch of photos with the sleeves down, but none of them turned out great. It makes sense that this is the best photo–I almost never wear any sleeves all the way down to the wrist, even when it’s cold outside.
Pumpkin Archer BackThe back. Some of the underarm issues in this photo are because I didn’t pull the shirt down far enough, but I just looked in the mirror and I should probably adjust that area next time I make this pattern. And there will definitely be a next time–I have some cute floral linen tucked away for a spring/summer Archer.
Pumpkin Archer CollarA closer look at the collar. This is one part of the shirt that I want to improve next time. I’ve got extra bulk at the ends of the collar stand, and I want to figure out how to grade those seams in just the right way to get a more professional finish.
Pumpkin Archer CuffOne of the cuffs. Do you like the double buttons? That design feature is thanks to a dumb mistake when making the buttonholes. I put them at the wrong end of the cuffs and didn’t realize my error until after I had sliced them open. Luckily I was able to skip the collar button and add an extra button and buttonhole at the right place on each sleeve.
Pumpkin Archer InsidesOut of everything on this shirt, I’m proudest of the insides. I used the burrito method on the yoke, which encases all of the seams there. Then I seamed everything up using French seams to keep it tidy. I’m especially glad I did because this loosely woven linen really likes to fray: I used Fray Check on my buttonholes before slicing them open, and I’m still snipping away threads from the fabric.

All in all, a very satisfying make at the end of the semester. It took me about two weeks, and most of that was in little sewing sessions at the end of the day. I’ve learned a lot along the way that will help me when sewing my next shirt, an upcoming Negroni for Sweetie. Since they’re a staple in both of our wardrobes right now, I see plenty of button down shirts, Archer and other wise, in my future.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    December 14, 2013 5:39 pm

    Great job…I’d give you a solid blue ribbon for construction in Washington County, or a Grand Champion ribbon in Anoka County! (Oops…did I actually type that? Sorry…love ya, Steve!)

Trackbacks

  1. Weekender in the Interim | Red Knits
  2. First Up… | Red Knits
  3. Floral Archer | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

