Skip to content

I’m Pretty Sure This Time

January 15, 2014

It seems like every round of the Knitting Olympics/Ravelympics/Ravellenic Games I’ve participated in has involved a whole lot of indecisiveness as to what to knit, including polls on the blog and surveys of the ladies at the LYS back table. This year, though, I think I’ve got it figured out.
2014 Ravellenic GamesI’m pretty sure I’m going to knit Cecily Glowik MacDonald’s Twist Pullover from the Spring 2012 issue of knit.wear, modifying it to have 3/4 length sleeves. There’s some beautiful Malabrigo Sock in my stash that I bought just for this project. I think this would be a great piece to throw on for my work from home days because it should be cozy without being too terribly warm (my apartment is always quite hot).

Of course, I reserve the right to change my mind or even add a project if this one goes quickly. Other possibilities are Jared Flood’s Druid Mittens out of some mustard Jamieson Spindrift and Holly Griffin’s Little Shells shawl out of some stunning purple silk that Amy gave me.

This year’s Games fall at an inconvenient time for me (although not nearly as inconvenient as last time, when we were moving across the country). The end of the Games are during a conference where I’m presenting a paper, and I’ll be participating in the Albion sewalong for most of the Games unless I manage to finish early. Depending on how things go with Sweetie’s job search, there may also be a trip to Chicago in there.

Given all of the above, I was looking for a project that wouldn’t be excessively challenging in the time period and that would travel well and potentially make for good knitting during workshops and presentations. I also wanted to knit up one of the projects that I have all of the supplies for from my end-of-LYS-job stashing. I like that all of the projects I’ve considered remind me of Yarn Harbor. I won’t be knitting on their team this year since I’m no longer local, but planning the Games at that shop for the past three events was a ton of fun for me.

A final note: I’m aware of all the drama going on over on ravelry, and I’m going to take part in the Games anyway. They’re too much fun for me to sit out. I may not be knitting a rainbow project, but I definitely support all those rainbow knitters out there, especially those on the Department of Fibre Studies Intramural Arts Team.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

