Skip to content

Avoidance

January 21, 2014

Weekender progressNormally, I think reading up on my next project is a great idea–it helps me to avoid potential pitfalls and incorporate ideas I may not have thought about on my own. With the Weekender bag, however, I sort of wish I had skipped the pre-project research and been blissfully ignorant at my sewing machine.

In most projects, I enjoy the challenge of exploring new techniques, but knowing that several other bloggers found this project a huge slog is keeping me from really enjoying the process. This is especially true because this has been a product-driven project from the very beginning.

I’m not about to give up on this one, and I’d really love it if it was finished before the Albion sewalong really takes off, so I’ve done a few things to keep moving forward. First, I started this project by fusing interfacing to all of the pieces, and then I laid the flat pieces all over my sewing room floor. Abandoning this project would mean folding the interfaced pieces, and I’m not willing to do that. Second, I’m doing everything I possibly can before piping the outside of the main panels and putting everything together. I figure that if I have everything else done, I’ll have too much time invested in the project to stop at that fussy step.

Readers, if you have any strength to spare, send it my way. I can use every bit I can find.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

