Skip to content

Ravellenic Twist Pullover

March 5, 2014

Ravellenic Twist Pullover Greetings from a grad student who is thrilled to be on spring break! I’m spending my week catching up on everything: academic projects that have fallen aside during the semester, grading papers, snuggling with my husband and kitties (who I hadn’t seen since Thanksgiving!), and, of course, taking some finished project photos with my Chief Photographer. Today, I’m sporting my Ravellenic Twist Pullover, which wasn’t done in time to earn a medal in the Games but is finished now!
Ravellenic Twist PulloverAll of this stockinette was exactly what I needed during a busy month, and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I decided to lengthen the sleeves to 3/4 length to better suit my style, although they ended up a little longer than I anticipated after blocking–I originally wanted them just above the elbow so the elbow wouldn’t stretch out with wear, but they’re now just below. My only other modification was to crochet a chain along the inside of the back neck to support all of the fabric in the front cowl, and I highly recommend that anyone else knitting this pattern do the same. For more info on when, why, and how you might do this in a sweater, check out the Yarn Harlot’s post on the topic.
Ravellenic Twist PulloverI was first drawn to this pattern because I thought it would make a great “Artist’s Wife” garment, and sure enough, my artist husband is a fan. He likes it better when worn with the cowl draped open, but I can’t decide which I prefer. And this elegant, drapey garment couldn’t have been added to my wardrobe at a better time–I’ve recently started watching Scandal, and I’m totally loving Olivia Pope’s style–it just exudes comfortable luxury.

Pattern: Cecily Glowik MacDonald’s Twist Pullover from the Spring 2012 Knit.Wear
Yarn: ~1.5 skeins Malabrigo Sock in #870 Candombe
Needles: US 7 bamboo circs and dpns
Made for: Me
Timeline: February 7-28, 2014
Modifications: lengthened sleeves, stabilized neck
Worst Part: missing the Ravellenic Games medal deadline
Best Part: feeling cozy while looking put together

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2014 10:45 pm

    Beautiful!! And I love watching Scandal too..her style is fabulous!

Trackbacks

  1. Me-Made-May ’14 Week 4 Update | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

