Skip to content

Checkerboard Lace Scarf

March 25, 2014

One of the cool things about being in a small PhD program like mine is getting to see friends who I’ve watched work long and hard  earn the title “Dr.” My mentor in the program just recently defended and presented her dissertation, and I realized I had better get going on a graduation gift for her, so I packed up a project to bring with me to New York.
Checkerboard Lace ScarfAfter spending more time than I care to admit in Ravelry’s pattern browser, I ended up choosing the Checkerboard Lace Scarf, a pattern that was already in my queue. I wanted a rectangular scarf rather than a shawl, and I wanted the pattern to be elegant without feeling overly delicate.
Checkerboard Lace Scarf ProgressThis Three Irish Girls Adorn Sock from my stash is just perfect. It’s not as glowingly psychedelic as it appears here, but it is a very vibrant red that matches E’s go-to lip color. I cast on for a scarf that is one repeat narrower than the original design, so I hope I can get a substantial scarf while using every bit of this skein.

I have to admit, I’m getting a little nervous about the length of the “Currently Making” list over in the sidebar. I’d better finish a few things up before my list gets unreasonably long!

Leave a Reply

