Skip to content

Sleeves or No?

April 1, 2014

I’m totally over-complicating things with my birthday dress. I can’t help but think that my fabric would look just stunning done up in Vogue 1353:
Vogue 1353
I love the neckline pleats and full skirt on this pattern, and I’ve been wanting to make it for a while now. The problem, of course, is that it’s sleeveless, and I’m not sure what to do about that.

One thought was to add sleeves. I’ve found a few resources that tell me how to do so, and I could try it out on my muslin. Leaving aside the potential extreme frustration of that plan, I’m not even sure if this dress would work with a short (but not cap) sleeve. And if I do add sleeves, how does that work with the lining? I’m pretty sure all of my dresses with sleeves are unlined, but I like the neat finish of a lined dress.

I could also leave it sleeveless, but I’m worried that I won’t wear it as often if I do. As I mentioned before, I get self-conscious about sweating when I wear sleeveless dresses, and that’s especially true on the dance floor. I also read some reviews that said the straps and neckline run wide on this pattern, which could be a problem with my sloping shoulders.

Any suggestions? Am I crazy to still be considering this pattern?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2014 7:59 am

    Hello! I’ve been lurking on your blog for a while and have to say that I absolutely love the fabric you picked and think it would work great as a sleeveless dress.

    I think it’s funny that you want to wear tops/dresses with sleeves because you worry about sweating – I’m the opposite and never wear things with sleeves (unless they’re loose fitting) in fear of getting those dreaded sweat marks when I’m giving it all on the dance floor.

    • April 2, 2014 8:30 am

      Thanks so much, Siri! I really want this to be a special dress.

      The whole sleeveless thing *is* completely nonsensical–even I don’t get it! I see all sorts of women rocking super cute sleeveless dresses on the dance floor, and I’m totally envious. But something about a lack of fabric under my arms makes me notice odor more. Maybe it’s all in my head!

  2. April 13, 2014 3:35 pm

    Have you decided yet? I’ve just bought this pattern and also vogue 8889 to make a little something as a coverup due to it being sleeveless. 😀

    • April 14, 2014 9:06 am

      I have! I decided to leave it sleeveless because I was worried it wouldn’t be as cute with them. I’ll wear it with a cardigan most of the time, but I’ll definitely go without when dancing. Can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

      • April 14, 2014 9:14 am

        I’m going to try and find some fabric to make a muslin for the bodice – hopefully this afty!
        Good luck with yours, love the orange fabric you’ve chosen 😃

      • April 14, 2014 9:29 am

        Good move–when I made a muslin, the darts were pointing at my high bust. They’re now sitting where they should 🙂

      • April 14, 2014 9:32 am

        Lol! If mine end up there I might adjust my bra instead!
        I’ve found some spotty black/white cotton sateen and some plain black. Hoping it will be a wearable muslin 😄

Leave a Reply

