Skip to content

Very Red. Very Pants. | Simplicity 1696

April 18, 2014
tags:

Red PantsMy red pants are finished! Before I turned my attention to my birthday dress, I wanted to cross one more project off my winter/spring sewing list so I could work on the dress guilt free. These weren’t the quick finish project I hoped they would be, but I pushed through the complications and got them off of my sewing table. Since I’m visiting Sweetie for the long weekend, we walked around Penn State’s botanical gardens and snapped some photos near a really cool old elm.
Red Pants BackThe biggest issue with this project was fit, and even though the fit is far from perfect, it’s certainly an improvement over where things started. And these pants are really pajamas in disguise–this fabric is so comfy!
Red Pants liningI didn’t do anything particularly exciting with the construction on these, but I did line the pockets with a giraffe print left over from a bag! I just barely squeaked these pieces out of my scraps, and I’m so pleased that I did!
Red PantsConsidering this was my first attempt at making pants in ten years or so, I’m going to call this project a success. They’re not perfect, but I think I’ll get a lot of wear out of them. And perhaps next time I get the urge to make some pants, I’ll give another pattern a try.

Finally, WordPress tells me that today is my 7 year blogiversary! My, how the time flies! Thanks to all of you out there who have read about my crafting adventures over the years!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2014 5:46 pm

    Very nice! i recently finished a similar style of pants using Burda Style 7447. Yours look great!

  2. Red's Mom permalink
    April 18, 2014 6:28 pm

    They turned out really cute! Thanks for taking photos from all the right angles and directions…inquiring mothers/fit consultants appreciate it!!! And hugs to my fluffy grandkitty, too!

  3. April 19, 2014 4:43 am

    Hi! Love the style of your trousers. Which fabric did you use?

  4. April 30, 2014 9:05 am

    Wow, I think these are fitting great! So well, in fact, perhaps you should try to perfect this one before moving on to another pattern. Of course, take some time to forget the current frustrations, but starting off from scratch again sounds like asking for another hard time. : )

    • April 30, 2014 9:49 am

      Thanks so much! You’re absolutely right–working up another pair from this pattern would be the smart thing to do. But I also have the Sewaholic Thurlows burning a hole in my pattern stash…

Trackbacks

  1. On Deadlines and “Done Enough” | Red Knits
  2. Me-Made-May ’14: Final Update and Reflections | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

