Skip to content

Me-Made-May ’14: You’re Doing It Wrong

May 4, 2014
tags:

Hi there! I’m finally beginning to emerge from my end-of-semester writing binge. I still have some papers to grade and some exam reading lists to get approved before the semester is officially over, but I am done with coursework forever. And let me tell you, that feels pretty good!

If you’ve looked around the sewing and knitting blogosphere lately, you know that it’s Me-Made-May, the month where bloggers pledge to wear their creations in their everyday lives. I’ve wanted to play along with this challenge for a few years now, but I haven’t before and wasn’t planning to this year because of the following:

  1. Selection: The garments I’ve made fit in with my life during the academic year, but don’t necessarily work during breaks. I’m not sure what I’ll be doing for a job now that classes are out, so I don’t know if the dress code will work with the clothes I’ve made for myself. I’ve also done a lot of sewing geared towards fall and winter (you can take the girl out of Minnesota…), so I’m not sure if I have enough warm weather makes to get me through May.
  2. Photography: I don’t have an in-house photographer right now, so that’s not an option. I would happily take mirror selfies, but the mirror in my apartment, which is in a pretty old building, is permanently dirty and gross. Sharing outfits is one of the things that makes this challenge fun, so photos are a necessity.

Given these limitations, I had decided not to sign up in any official way, but to play along on my own. That way, I didn’t have to worry about bad photos or whether or not my job would allow me to complete the challenge. Then I saw how Tilly was sharing her daily outfits and realized that I didn’t have to model my looks in order to participate–a revelation! Here’s what the first week looked like:
MMM14-1Day 1 was my first chance to get out of the house after several days cooped up writing. Our class went over to our professor’s house to share our final projects, so I wore a really old RTW dress that I bought on clearance and still love, my Rivel cardi, pink ballet flats, a braided belt, and pearl earrings. I ended up at a surprise birthday party after the class meeting (thanks, Sweetie and JH!) with my grad school friends, and the gin in the photo was a gift.
MMM14-2.1I headed in to campus on Day 2 for my students’ final presentations. It was a little warmer, and I had broken out my sunless tanner earlier in the week, so I decided it was spring. I wore my Colette Ginger skirt (unblogged, I guess), a purple Merona tee, a thrifted white cardigan, Clarks wedge sandals, silver bird earrings, my pearl necklace, and some pink polish on my toes.
MMM14-2.2There was occasion for a second me-made look on Day 2, as Sweetie and I went out to listen to the Boilermaker Jazz Band. This dress, Vogue 1161, isn’t technically done since it needs some more finishing work, so I’ll share it on the blog when it’s totally finished. I wore it with my brown Anne Klein heels to and from the car and my navy keds knockoffs on the dance floor. I topped things off with pearl earrings and bright red lipstick. This look had the added bonus of fitting the “Cocktail Hour” Friday mmm theme, which I learned about long after wearing it.
MMM14-3Day 3 was pretty dreary here in Pittsburgh, and my only plans were to run errands with Sweetie and grab a beer with friends, so I opted for comfort. I wore a green Merona tee, striped knit F21 skirt, my mustard cardi, gray tights, brown b.o.c. boots, and some lovely green metal hoops that my SIL gave me.
MMM14-4Today, Day 4, we headed to our friends’ house to deliver some dinosaur wall decorations for their nursery and hold their little girl. I didn’t want to wear any main pieces that couldn’t be spit up on, so I wore my Echo Flower shawl over an H&M breton top and Gap wide leg jeans with LifeStride flats (the only shoes that really make my feet happy), a flower brooch, and black stud earrings.

So, I guess I’m in. My job is still up in the air, so I may not make it the entire month, but it’s worth a shot. I’ll post my daily outfits on Instagram and do weekly roundups here on the blog. In order to make this kind of sort of official, here’s my pledge:

 I, Cheryl of RedKnits, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavor to wear at least one handmade garment or accessory each day for the duration of May 2014.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. hawaiianinpittsburgh permalink
    May 5, 2014 8:40 am

    Fabulous outfits. I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of the month’s ensembles!

Leave a Reply

