Skip to content

UFO Mondays: Vilai and Milo

May 26, 2014

VilaiMy Vilai socks are done, and I think they’re pretty stunning even if my camera has trouble showing their true color. As I mentioned last time I talked about these socks, they’re one of the more challenging patterns in Sock Innovation, so it took me a while to finish off that second sock. If you’d like to knit this pattern yourself, I would recommend cabling with a cable needle (which I don’t normally do) because these cables require manipulation in multiple directions for a single cable.

VilaiPattern: Cookie A’s Vilai from Sock Innovation
Yarn: 2 skeins Plymouth Happy Feet in #1505
Needles: US 0 dpns
Made for: Me/Class sample
Timeline: 6 July 2009 – 21 May 2014
Modifications: none
Worst Part: manipulating tiny stitches
Best Part: the combination of cables and lace
Milo UFOOf course, I’d hate to be without a sock UFO on the needles, so I’m now working on Milo in a wonderfully cheery yellow yarn. Sock Innovation has fifteen patterns, and with the completion of Vilai I’m in the final third of the project–hopefully I’ll be able to finish it off this summer!

Last seen: July 2009

Reason for abandonment: the Sock Innovation project  that resulted in a lot of single socks

Assessment: I scooted along on the beginning of the second sock that’s pictured above pretty quickly, so I’m hoping these don’t take long to finish.

Leave a Reply

