Skip to content

Milo Socks

June 3, 2014

Milo socks backI have not been a particularly fun person to be around lately. There’s a lot of big life stuff up in the air for my husband and me, and we’ve been waiting for the better part of the last year to have some stability. That hasn’t come yet, but little things like these Milo socks, with their energetic cables and happy yellow yarn, go a little ways toward cheering me up during this grumpy time. PS–the yarn is much brighter in real life than in these pictures, and my legs are not quite so purple. I think we took them too late in the evening.
Milo socks toesConfession time: these socks are fraternal, rather than identical, twins. I was knitting along on sock #2 without a hitch this weekend, when I got to the point in the cable chart where my notes told me I should be ready to transition to the toe. The length didn’t seem quite long enough, so I looked at a ravelry picture of my first sock (you may remember that I didn’t pack it to bring with me), and sure enough, I had messed up the cable pattern on sock #1, causing it to be a little longer. In the photo above, sock #1 is on the left, and sock #2 is on the right–I think I prefer where the cables fall on the “correct” version.
Milo socksI do love these skinny cables on the front. They look really cool, and they’re very easy to knit. This is one of the easier patterns in Sock  Innovation, but it’s still a lot of fun.

Pattern: Cookie A’s Milo from Sock Innovation
Yarn: less than 2 skeins Fortissima Socka in #1413
Needles: US 0 dpns
Made for: Me/Class sample
Timeline: 4 July 2009 – 3 June 2014
Modifications: accidental cable modification
Worst Part: none
Best Part: the bright, happy yarn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    June 3, 2014 10:46 pm

    Just another thing to worry about: you appear to be turning into an oompah-loompah. Cute socks, though…

  2. Charlotte permalink
    June 3, 2014 10:56 pm

    Even with your great Scandinavian heritage, I think a little bit of sun might help with the skin tone. You & your cousin don’t tend to color very well.

    • June 4, 2014 9:10 am

      Afraid not. The only thing I do in the sun is burn, and the only thing that changes the skin tone is tan in a bottle. I do use it in the summertime, so I think the greater problem in these photos was the lighting picking up my lovely purple undertones. I’m just more of a fall/winter gal, I guess.

  3. June 4, 2014 12:57 am

    Oops, I thought those were lavender tights!

Leave a Reply

