Skip to content

UFO Mondays: Lindsay and Wanida

June 9, 2014

Lindsay socksDespite the zillion UFOs it has caused me, I have truly loved knitting on my Sock Innovation projects. Except for this pattern. When I knit the first of these socks, I had to track down a ton of errata that weren’t yet posted on the official site, it took me a good chunk of the sock to think of using a crochet hook for the k4togs, and I snapped my yarn a few times from putting too much pressure on it. I’m especially happy to have these ones off the needles and in my sock drawer.
Lindsay socksIt’s not all bad, though. The garter stitch heel and toe on these are easy and squishy. And I also like how the lace pattern is broken up by the vertical line going up the outside of each sock. For more detail shots, take a look at my way-back-when post of the first completed sock.
Lindsay socksPattern: Lindsay by Cookie A from Sock Innovation
Yarn: less than one skein Noro Kureyon Sock S240
Needles: US 0 Boye dpns (blue)
Made for: Me/Class Sample
Timeline: 24 April 2009 – 9 June 2014
Modifications: none
Worst Part: Tracking down all of the errata was a nightmare.
Best Part: That these turned out in the Noro–I wasn’t sure if it would really work but I’m very happy with the result.
Wanida UFOYesterday was Sweetie’s 30th birthday, and since we aren’t big on giving each other gifts around here (grad school will do that to you), I’m focusing my crafting efforts on him with a few different projects this month. These Wanida socks are the last of the Sock Innovation socks that I’m knitting for him, so I pulled them out for this week’s UFO.

Last seen: May 2009

Reason for abandonment: the Sock Innovation project  that resulted in a lot of single socks

Assessment: the knitting should go quickly enough, but it’s for a large man’s foot. We’ll see if this one gets done in a week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    June 9, 2014 9:50 pm

    Looks like the oompah-loompah syndrome is worsening. I would suggest getting your legs looked at. Or send the photos to Uncle Keith for a cyber-consult. Or maybe you’re turning violet, Violet, and we need to put you into the juicing machine. Nice socks, though…

Leave a Reply

