Skip to content

Vogue 8772 | Be Real with Me Now.

June 10, 2014

V8772Did I accidentally make myself a Hawaiian shirt? Because I was going for a blouse with a cute take on a floral print, but I’m worried that I should be tossing an oversized camera around my neck and heading to a tourist trap luau. I almost ditched this one at the very end because I made a substantial mistake and didn’t like the feel of the fabric to begin with, but Sweetie encouraged me to soldier on.
V8772And really, even if I don’t get much wear out of this particular shirt, it was a great test of a pattern that I think I’ll use over and over again. I did a tissue fit of the pattern before cutting into my fabric and went with an unaltered size 10. The fit is pretty darn good, and I think it should be with eight darts in this top! Next time, I think the only changes I’ll make will be to lower the bust darts a bit and hem the sleeves a little shorter.
V8772This could be it: my new go-to fitted blouse pattern! Not only is this view a great fit of a style that I wear year-round, but there are other sleeve and style options on Vogue 8772 that could make for endless possibilities.

Wearing with: a thrifted black Worthington skirt, black LifeStride flats, and basic jewelry

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2014 9:05 pm

    The same thing happened to me when I made a floral button-up shirt! I think your color is muted enough that if you style it right you’ll look just fine, though!

Trackbacks

  1. Shirtmaking Project Update | Red Knits
  2. Birthday Sewing Plans 2015 | Red Knits
  3. My 2015 Birthday Outfit | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

