Skip to content

Red Goes Vintage

July 20, 2014

Since all of this packing (over halfway there now!) is really messing with my sewing and knitting time, I’m here today with a top that’s been finished but unblogged for a while.
B4985Really, though, this story begins with the skirt. I’ve been swing dancing for nearly ten years now–mostly lindy hop, with some Charleston, East Coast, Balboa, and Blues thrown in–and part of modern swing culture for many dancers is getting dressed up in vintage styles for dances, particularly those with live bands. Because my mom knows this, loves me, and loves to sew, she made me this 1940s Arches Skirt from Decades of Style out of a beautiful wool a few years ago.

I loved and wore the skirt right away, but I didn’t feel that any of the tops I had in my closet really did it justice. Enter Butterick 4985, a fitted blouse with bow collar tie and gathered sleeves, out of a navy cotton.
B4985 with victory rollsThis blouse isn’t vintage accurate by any means, but it’s a great complement to the skirt. I think it works especially well with stacked heels, red lipstick, and victory rolls. That’s my first successful version of the hairstyle pictured above–previous attempts have ended in cursing and tears.

I was thrilled with this outfit when I headed to a dance earlier this summer, but I really knew I had hit the mark when the leader of the Boilermaker Jazz Band, one of the best hot jazz bands in the world today, thanked me for bringing my 40s and “prettying the place up.” Best. Compliment. Ever.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2014 7:39 pm

    You look fantastic!

  2. July 21, 2014 4:26 am

    This blouse is just perfect and I love the colour!

    • July 22, 2014 9:50 am

      Thanks! I actually realized that my little pose in these pictures isn’t doing the blouse a whole lot of favors. The fit is much better than it looks!

Leave a Reply

