Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Fall Knitting 2014, Online Edition

August 13, 2014

There was definitely a hint of fall in the air here in Pittsburgh today. Combine that with the impending beginning of the academic year (so much to do before then!), and I can’t help but think ahead to fall knitting.

Fall tends to be the season when I add the most new patterns to my ravelry queue, and this year doesn’t look to be any different. Here’s what’s caught my eye so far:

F14 Twist Collective I’m really loving the colorwork in this issue of Twist Collective. Kate Gilbert’s Akebia pullover has a beautiful, fluid pattern that I loved immediately. However, if I do actually get around to knitting this one, I think I’ll have to make a neckline adjustment. On my frame, I’d worry that the slight funnel neck would look sloppy and unfinished.

This issue also has a ton of beautiful mitten designs, most of them colorwork, and I’ve only included my favorites here. I could see making Petersham and Candlesmoke for myself, and I bet my Northwoods loving husband would love the pattern on Vasalisa.
F14 KnittyI’ve been a little underwhelmed with Knitty in the past couple years, and this issue was much the same. A lot of the designs looked familiar rather than fresh, but there were two that caught my attention for the right reasons. The Change of Heart cowl is both delicate and rustic, and I don’t have anything like it yet. In fact, this looks like a good project to knit on during fall meetings and workshops.

If you can look past the crazy color choice in the Carry on Solefully socks, this is an interesting pattern concept. Salpekar has you knit the entire sole of the sock before moving onto the foot and cuff, allowing you to carry along reinforcement thread or easily re-sole when they’re worn out. I immediately thought of my dad, who doesn’t need new socks at the moment but is concerned about wearing through his soles.

The Fall patterns haven’t stopped coming yet–I still need to check out some of my favorite print magazines, including Interweave Knits–so I’m sure I’ll add a few more projects to my queue then. Which patterns are you excited about this season?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. stgilbert permalink
    August 14, 2014 5:19 pm

    Lovely! I just received my Knit Picks catalogue and am drooling over the lovely wools and wool tweeds. I’m hosting the Fall Essentials Sew-Along and hope you’ll join – there’s lots of room for knitters!

    • August 15, 2014 12:54 pm

      I saw your post the other day, and I definitely plan on joining! I already have a pretty thorough plan for my fall knitting and sewing that I’ll post here soon.

Leave a Reply

