Skip to content

UFO Mondays: Back to School

August 25, 2014

I’m not sure how it happened, but somehow summer came to a close, and classes began again this morning! I’m happy to be back teaching college freshman composition again, this time while mentoring a new PhD student and Teaching Fellow in our department. She had a fantastic first class–I’m already so proud!

I may be in the 22nd grade, but I still love me some back to school supplies. In honor of the new academic year, I finished up this pencil bag, a longtime UFO that I began during one of my previous degrees.
Pencil BagI used this tutorial from my favorite embroidery company, Sublime Stitching. This project had some new to me techniques, some of which I abandoned for something easier, like the binding finish on the lining…
Pencil Bag Embroidery…and some of which I embraced, like the reverse applique of the embroidered writing implements. I like the effect, but I’m not sure how well it’ll hold up given the cheap fabric I used for this project.

Really, this project is all about the embroidery design, which I find cute despite it being a bit askew. At any rate, I’m happy to have a little something to organize my highlighters and dry erase markers this fall.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

