Skip to content

Sock Innovation

August 27, 2014

BexMy Bex socks are finished, and they are incredibly luxurious! These socks are not only knit up in a beautifully intricate twisted stitch pattern, but they’re also made out of Regia Silk, a merino/nylon/silk blend that is very soft and smooth. I probably should have reserved this yarn for a fine gauge cardigan or a shawl, but I couldn’t resist using an extra special yarn for these socks.
Bex DetailThese socks are also particularly special because they’re the very last pair in my Sock Innovation project. That’s right, it’s the end of an era. Let’s have a look back at all the socks that were:

Sock InnovationDetails on each pair of socks can be found in my Ravelry notebook.

When I began this project, I had no idea that it would last just over five years and span half the country, several jobs, a graduate degree, and some major life events. These socks represent the time it took to knit up over 6,000 yards of thin yarn into tiny stitches arranged in complex patterns. Most of these socks are still in my own sock drawer, waiting for boot season to arrive, but several pairs warm the feet of my husband and friends. And although I didn’t love every moment of knitting every pattern, I’m proud of each pair.

My copy of Cookie A’s book is looking pretty worn these days, but it’s nice to know that, of all the knitting books in my collection, I’ve certainly gotten my money’s worth from this one. I’d like to think that my next pair of socks will be of the plain vanilla variety, but I can’t help noticing the other beautiful sock knitting books, one of which is even by Cookie, on my shelf…

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Hop | make & wear

Leave a Reply

