Skip to content

With Good Reason

October 6, 2014

These past couple years, one of my biggest goals with this blog has been to take (read: force my husband to take) better photos. They make for a better record of my projects and more interesting and useful reading for all of you. We don’t have a proper camera–we’re making do with our iPhones and some decent camera apps for now–but I think we’re doing okay.
Burgundy WurmSo why am I posting a dark, unmodelled photo of a slouchy hat on a terrible background? As this post title suggests, I have a good reason.

When we came back to campus this fall, we learned that one of our new professors had been diagnosed with breast cancer. Although she’s still teaching a class this semester (and serving on my exam committee, which is so kind of her), she’s undergoing chemo and losing her hair.

I found out that she has a difficult head to find hats for when she has hair, so she knew it would be hard to find something to wear once she had lost her hair. I did what any good knitter would do, and I offered to knit her a hat. We worked together to find a pattern and color that she’d like, and she’s so pleased with the finished hat that she’s asked if I would knit her another (spoiler alert: I will. duh.).

So this brings me back to the bad photo. Normally a condition of my knitted gifts is that the recipient has to pose for photos, but I’m guessing my prof isn’t feeling her most photogenic at the moment. And my second choice would be to model it myself, but there’s something that doesn’t feel right about posing in her hat with my full head of hair. So, this time, a flat table shot was the right choice. I hope you’ll agree.

Pattern: Wurm by Katharina Nopp
Yarn: 1.25 skeins Bernat Satin in Bordeaux
Needles: US 4 & 6 16″ circulars and dpns
Made for: Prof B
Timeline: 26 September – 3 October 2014
Modifications: used worsted weight yarn, knit middle size, and only worked 8 rpts
Worst Part: buying acrylic yarn, even though this is a nice soft one
Best Part: her reaction–it’s her new favorite hat

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 7, 2014 4:19 am

    Beautifully knitted. I just hope her treatment works.

Leave a Reply

