Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Knocking Off the J. Crew Fluted Skirt

November 5, 2014

Lately, I have really been loving the fashion/lifestyle blog History in High Heels. I have a fair amount in common with Ashley–we’re both in the exam year of our PhDs in the Humanities–but our clothing budgets could not be further apart! I love her style, but I’ll have to admire her Kate Spade from afar. One garment she has raved about time and time again is the fluted skirt from J.Crew. I love the silhouette and want to try it for myself, but the skirt was originally $98 (out of my price range) and is now only available in a few sizes (not mine) on clearance. I’m determined to have one of these skirts in my closet, so I took a look in the sale pattern books last time I was at the fabric store to see if there was anything remotely close.
M6842Enter McCall’s 6842, a skirt with style lines almost identical to my J.Crew inspiration. In fact, I prefer the fully seamed front yoke extension of the pattern to the weird darts going on in the original.

For the first iteration, I’m going to sew up view A in this textured gray fabric from JoAnn. I don’t know enough about fabric to know what it’s called, but I couldn’t get this texture out of my mind after I saw it, so I nabbed it on sale on my next trip.

I have high hopes for this pattern. If it works out, I’d like to make it up in a few different colors and perhaps add a lining to make it more friendly for tights in the winter.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    November 12, 2014 10:12 pm

    I think the pattern you chose is WAY cuter than the J Crew skirt, and yup…a centered zipper application seems like a good choice in this instance!

Leave a Reply

