Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Knit Dress Decisions

November 13, 2014

One garment I’ve been meaning to add to my handmade wardrobe for at least two years now is a knit dress. Actually, a bunch of knit dresses from a pattern that fits me well and comes together easily. My current lifestyle involves a lot of working from home with regular runs out for meetings, errands, and swing dancing. Aside from teaching, for which I like to dress up a bit, a knit dress fits most of my sartorial needs while being super comfy. Now it’s just a matter of which pattern to choose as I aim for tried-and-true.

skater_dress_essential_details

My first thought was to go with Lady Skater since it’s gotten such love from the sewing blog community (though I have little trust in online reviews these days). I love the silhouette, and it looks great on just about everyone who’s made it. I also like that this dress has a stabilized waist seam, which I would think prevents excessive stretching. Both of my reasons for hesitating on this pattern have to do with the skirt: I’m worried that it may read as a little young on me, and I don’t like how it looks done up in striped fabric.
Knit dress patternsI then found McCall’s 6886 and 6957 while flipping through a book during a pattern sale. Between the two I have some neckline and skirt variations, and I imagine the basic block of the pattern is similar. I haven’t compared the actual pattern pieces yet, but I’m hoping it would make for easy mixing and matching. These patterns don’t have that waist seam, which may mean less stability but also means less pattern matching and consistently horizontal stripes.

I’m being way too indecisive when it comes to a little knit dress. Anyone have any opinions they’re willing to share? Any great patterns out there I’ve missed?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2014 11:54 am

    You have some great patterns there already. Colette Moneta is another good one. I have made it and I wear it a lot. Its also easy to make with a sew along available. Because I already have Moneta I haven’t tried Lady Skater – they are too similar IMO, difference mostly being Lady has a t shirt type neck and Monetary doesn’t. Although moneta comes with about 6 adaptations for free like peter pan collar etc. Hope that helps

    • November 18, 2014 8:46 am

      I’m so glad that Moneta works for you–it looks like a lot of people are having great luck with that pattern. I’ve had a few problems with Colette patterns in the past, which is why I was thinking of Lady Skater. As you say, they’re pretty similar.

  2. November 13, 2014 5:59 pm

    I highly recommend the Lady Skater Dress – I’ve made 3 and have used the skirt pattern for wovens, too. I’m high-waisted, so I had to chop out a full 1.5″ from the bodice.

    • November 18, 2014 9:11 am

      Thanks! I think it’s ultimately going to come down to the fabric I end up with. I couldn’t find anything I liked locally (it’s just JoAnn and quilting cotton here), so I ordered online. Can’t wait to see it in person!

  3. Red's Mom permalink
    November 14, 2014 10:58 pm

    I think the flared version would be great out of a drapey, fluid knit, and the more fitted version would sew up nicely in a knit with more body.

Leave a Reply

