Skip to content

Dolores Batwing Tunic

November 15, 2014

I was so thrilled to receive an email from Zoe a while back letting me know that I had won a review copy of her new Dolores Batwing pattern. I enter blog giveaways all the time and never win (I know; poor me), so I certainly didn’t expect my comment to be pulled at random from all the others on that post.
Red Knits Dolores Batwing TunicMy primary goal in making new garments right now (UFOs are a whole different ball o’ wax) is to create versatile clothing that works for the different facets of my life. I would much rather have a closet made up of garments I can wear for many occasions rather than having “teaching” clothes and “work from home” clothes. With this in mind, I chose the long sleeve tunic view and picked out a “performance” knit at JoAnn that I thought was slinky enough for this pattern and could be dressed up or down.
Red Knits Dolores Batwing TunicI’m pretty happy with the fit through the body. If I wanted a closer fit, I could do a swayback adjustment (which I’ve had to do on other knit tops), but this style is meant to be looser through the waist and fitted at the hips. I’m also pleased with the neckline, which I don’t think cuts so high as to be constricting and isn’t so wide as to reveal bra straps.
Red Knits Dolores Batwing TunicThe one area where I will certainly tweak the fit if I make another long sleeve version is the arms. As you can see in this photo, the sleeves are pretty tight until they get to the wrist and, while I’m no longer as stick thin as I once was, I’m also not overly muscular.

This isn’t a complex top, but it’s still worth mentioning that the instructions were great. I especially appreciated Zoe’s insistence that knits can be sewn without a serger. I’m not sure where that myth originated in the sewing blogosphere, but it’s certainly not true! I own a serger, and I almost always use it for seam finishes on my knits, preferring the sturdiness of a lightening stitch for the seams themselves.
Red Knits Dolores Batwing TunicTo be crystal clear: I received a free copy of this pattern in exchange for an honest review. I don’t have any affiliation with Zoe beyond reading her blog, and I was not a pattern tester; I was simply chosen at random after leaving a comment on her blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2014 4:58 am

    LOVE your version! Thanks so much for taking the time to try out and review this pattern honestly. I really appreciate it and am sorry the sleeves came out a bit tight! The colour you’ve chosen is gorgeous on you and I really hope you enjoy wearing it for all manner of occasions .

    xxx

    • November 18, 2014 12:57 pm

      Thanks for sharing the pattern with me, Zoe! I’ve gotten lots of compliments on the top so far.

  2. November 17, 2014 6:16 am

    love the purple!! it looks super comfy, too 🙂

    • November 18, 2014 12:58 pm

      It IS super comfy! Some days secret pajamas really are necessary.

Leave a Reply

