Skip to content

A Merry Fishmas Was Had by All

December 27, 2014

Red Knits_Fishing Lure ShirtHappy holidays, everyone! We spent Christmas in Pittsburgh this year, so we didn’t get to take part in the usual family celebrations, but we still had a great time. Some of our friends came over for the afternoon, and we all watched dorky movies and ate Chinese food and Christmas cookies until Steve had to go to work (yes, on Christmas. ugh).

We also had time to open some presents, and one gift under the tree for Steve was this fishing lure shirt that I very stealthily made while he was at work. Steve loves fishing, but he hasn’t done much of it since we left our beloved Land of 10,000 Lakes. I know this shirt isn’t the same as fishing itself, but I hope it’ll make him smile when he wears it.
Red Knits_Fishing Lure ShirtI hardly changed a thing from the first shirt I made for him, so this is once again a customized version of McCall’s 6613. The quality of this fabric, a Robert Kaufman chambray from Fabric.com, made a huge difference in the ease of construction this time, though. This was my first time with both the fabric line and the online retailer, and I was very pleased with both. I was also pleased with glue basting, the one new technique I tried in this project, and these sleeve plackets are my best yet!

The only real hitch came when I went to attach buttons: I had thought that the fabric was black and purchased buttons accordingly, but it’s actually a dark navy–this is not nearly so obvious in real life as it is in these images. Unfortunately, since this realization came on Christmas Eve and Steve had the car all day, I had to wrap the nearly completed shirt and wait until this morning to finish it off.

Thanks for bearing with me during my blogging break even though it lasted a little longer than I expected. I’ve studied for, taken, and passed the first of my exams, and now I’m working towards the second one! I’ve also spent plenty time over my winter break knitting and sewing since I finished the exam and was quickly hit with the consequences of weeks of eye strain. I had to stay away from screens and even books for a while, but now I seem to be mostly back in business. I’m happy to be blogging again, and I can’t wait to show you what else I’ve been up to!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ines permalink
    December 29, 2014 4:55 pm

    I love it! He must be so happy about it!!!

  2. Sandy from the shop permalink
    January 19, 2015 8:50 pm

    Steve! Where’s your hat????

Leave a Reply

