Skip to content

Testing 1-2!

December 29, 2014

Back when I was planning my fall sewing (Type A and proud!), I thought I’d work on some simple knit dresses for stress relief in the time leading up to my field exam. Not so–I was studying pretty much every waking moment, so I didn’t touch my sewing machine at all. Now that I’m finished with the exam and on break, I’ve had a chance to make up test versions of both patterns that interested me and move on to fancier versions in more exciting fabrics.
Red Knits_Gray M6886 necklineI started with McCall’s 6886, a semi-fitted straight line dress with short sleeves and a v neck. I’m afraid I don’t have any full-length photos to share–something about the way the dress was wrinkling when I snapped them looked horrendous, so you’ll have to settle for my upper half.

This was my first time sewing this style of v-neck, which is different from the one used in Renfrew, and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. The pattern instructions were pretty much useless, but this tutorial from Cake patterns was a huge help.
Red Knits_Gray M6886 backI basted the body of the dress after cutting, and I’m glad I did. I ended up grading down a size from what I had initially chosen based on the finished measurements, and I shortened the bodice. As you can see, I’ve still got a lot of pooling at the small of my back, so I did a swayback adjustment for my next version.
Red Knits_Red Lady SkaterMy second knit dress is the infamous Lady Skater from Kitschy Coo. I had my doubts about this pattern since I’m now hesitant to try any new-to-me indie pattern lines, but I really do think this one lives up to the hype. The style lines are flattering–at least on my body type–and the instructions are excellent. I do, however, think I’ll change up the construction order on my next Lady Skater. I can see how the recommended order would be good for assembly-lining dresses, but I think I’ll be able to align my seams and bands better if I assemble the sleeves before setting them into the bodice.
Red Knits_Red Lady Skater backHere again, there’s some excess fabric in the lower back. I read that this pattern comes with a swayback adjustment, so my back must be extra swayed! Again, I’ve wedged out that excess for round 2.

I’m so happy to have two different styles of knit dresses on their way to becoming tried-and-true! They’re comfy, cute, and are sure to be in heavy wardrobe rotation.

 

Leave a Reply

