Skip to content

Happy 2015!

January 1, 2015

Red Knits_Gray Fluted SkirtHappy new year!

We didn’t go out to celebrate, preferring to stay in, drink fancy cocktails in comfy pants, and watch Anchors Aweigh! If I had gone out, though, I might have worn this fluted skirt, which I completed back in November before exam crunch time.
Red Knits_Gray Fluted SkirtThis pattern, McCall’s 6842, is nearly identical to the current version of my J.Crew inspiration skirt that’s in stores. However, that new version and this pattern have a lot more flare than the original iteration that I was trying to imitate. For the next version–and I do think there will be one–I would like to figure out how to bring in the full circle skirt to one with less body, and I’ll probably add some length to make this teaching appropriate.
Red Knits_Gray Fluted Skirt backI wanted to let this textured fabric shine, so I did more hand stitching than I typically would for a trial version of  a pattern. I hand picked the centered zipper and hand stitched the hem.

2014  wasn’t a bad year. We visited Minnesota, New York, and Louisville, and I presented my work at some international conferences and volunteered at another one. My husband finished his MFA and turned 30. I finished the coursework portion of my PhD, became Co-President of our grad org with my amazing friend J, and passed the first of my comprehensive exams. Most importantly, 2014 marked the end of two years living away from my husband and kitties. We’re so happy to be living together again, and we’d rather not repeat that time apart despite the challenges of the academic job market.

It was a great year for knitting and sewing, too. I participated in the Ravellenic Games (though I didn’t quite finish in time) and finally finished my Sock Innovation project. In total, I completed 54 projects. 22 of them were knit, and 2 of those were adult sweaters. 31 were sewn–some of them were quick projects, and some quite involved. I’ve certainly completed more total projects in past years, but this has to have been my best sewing year yet.

Now that I’m nearly finished sewing for my upcoming vacation, I’m thinking about what to work on this winter and spring. I don’t have many specific plans this season, but I’m sure that there will be plenty more shirtmaking and a new venture: bramaking! I’m also hoping to finally get around to finishing my Lady Gray coat, and I have some sweater WIPs that will be finished very soon. Finally, UFOs are not nearly the problem they once were, and I daresay I may well conquer them this year!

Here’s to a new year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    January 2, 2015 9:16 am

    It’s funny how similar the shirt you’re wearing in the photos looks to the one you originally made to go with that vest!

    • January 2, 2015 10:37 am

      Isn’t it?! This one is Eddie Bauer from maybe 5 years ago. I have a feeling I couldn’t fit into the original shirt…

  2. January 14, 2015 12:22 pm

    LOVE the skirt! I could see myself wearing it everywhere!

Leave a Reply

