Skip to content

Knit Dresses, This Time with Patterned Fabrics!

March 7, 2015

Back when I first debuted some knit dresses, I mentioned that they were my trial versions before making up the patterns in more exciting fabrics. Here are those dresses, both of which I made from Mood fabrics and brought along on our Disney trip.
Red Knits_Floral Lady SkaterFirst up is a Lady Skater from Kitschy Coo. This is definitely my favorite of the two dress patterns. It looks great in a lot of different fabrics (though sadly not stripes) and is feminine without looking overly young.
Red Knits_Floral Lady Skater liningThis time, I switched up my construction a bit, both to suit my own preferences and also to add a lining to the bodice and skirt. I had seen another colorway of this fabric used for a dress successfully before, so I thought it would be opaque enough to work. When it arrived, it was tissue thin, and I was not about to wear a slip under a casual summer dress. Instead, I added a cheap, white knit lining, which wasn’t too difficult and seems to have done the job.
Red Knits_Floral Lady SkaterThere’s still some pooling in the center back despite grading to a size smaller at the waist and taking out a wedge for a swayback adjustment. I’m just about to cut out another version of this dress, and I think I’ll pull out another 1/2″ or so. Really, though, this is at least as good as RTW.
Red Knits_Floral Lady SkaterI was as careful as I could be with pattern placement, though those skirt pieces eat up an awful lot of fabric! I’m really happy with the way the flowers frame the front neckline. Unfortunately, this was one of my vacation garments that didn’t actually get worn on vacation. It was simply too cold, and I couldn’t wear all the warm weather outfits I had packed.
Red Knits_Striped M6886This dress definitely did get worn–I wore it on the plane to Florida, so it was worn on our first night of the trip (which we spent at Hollywood Studios watching Fantasmic–my favorite!). This is another V-neck McCall’s 6886.
Red Knits_Striped M6886 fabric pillingI was so excited to order this basic stripe fabric and ended up so disappointed with it. When I went to cut, I found that it had weird flaws and dirty spots all over the fabric, so I had to cut around them. I hadn’t checked for them before pre-shrinking, so I have no way of knowing for sure that the fabric arrived that way, but I do know I’ve never had a problem with our washer and dryer before. I managed to make it work, but then the fabric pilled terribly. This is from wearing and washing just once! It’s completely pilled in every spot that received the least bit of friction. This dress should be a classic basic that I wanted to wear for a long time, so I’m pretty disappointed. //rant over.
Red Knits_Striped M6886As for fit, I did a big swayback adjustment and shortened the length (maybe too much…). It’s still not perfect, but I imagine I’ll almost always wear this style of dress with a belt, so I’m not too concerned.

That’s it for my vacation wardrobe. After making these warm weather garments, I’m feeling much more prepared for summer once it arrives. Until then, I’ll be sporting my dresses more like this:
Red Knits_Striped M6886Except also with leggings. Probably of the fleece-lined variety because I can’t stand being cold. In upcoming posts, I’ll show you a few more ways I’m keeping myself cozy.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2015 9:21 am

    Wow. these look great! I think with the first dress that your back bodice is too long and that is what’s causing the pooling though. Too bad about the second because that thing is CUTE.

    • March 8, 2015 11:26 am

      Thanks!

      I agree that the back bodice is too long, but I think the front is okay. That’s why I’m going to try an even deeper swayback adjustment on the next round. If you know another alteration that would be better, I would love to hear it–I’ve been sewing forever, but I still have a lot to learn about fit!

  2. March 9, 2015 8:40 am

    Love your flowery Lady Skater. I great tip about lining it. I’d never have thought about that.

    • March 16, 2015 7:36 pm

      Thanks! I normally wouldn’t have lined a casual knit dress, but the fabric was already purchased and couldn’t be returned, so I made it work!

  3. March 9, 2015 10:09 am

    I concur the your Lady Skater is great.You have lovely taste. I found the bodice to run long as well.

    • March 16, 2015 7:37 pm

      Thanks! It’s good to know that I’m not the only one with this problem. I think that my torso is long, but my true waist is probably higher than most.

Trackbacks

  1. Grainline Morris Blazer in Basic Black | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

