Skip to content

PhD Sweater #2: Emelie

March 9, 2015

Red Knits_EmelieMeet Emelie, my second year PhD sweater. If you’re new around these parts, I’m knitting a sweater in each year of my PhD to commemorate the process and maintain my sanity. Never mind that I’m 3/4 of the way through the third year of the program and just swatching for my third year sweater…
Red Knits_Emelie lace detailEmelie’s nicest feature is the center front lace panels. They add a bit of interest to both the knitting and the finished sweater without making the knitting too difficult for on-the-go or the finished sweater too busy. If you looked closely, you can see where I was knitting while distracted by a talk and messed up the pattern!
Red Knits_Emelie backThe rest of the cardigan is nice, easy stockinette stitch. I bought three skeins of Madelinetosh Tosh Sock for this sweater, and one of the skeins was visibly much brighter than the others. Not wanting the colors to pool, I knit four rows of a dull skein followed by two of the bright one throughout the project. This made it a little less portable, but I’m so happy with the fabric in the finished cardigan.
Red Knits_Emelie buttonbandI wanted to do the finishing right, and it took me months to get around to attaching grosgrain ribbon to the buttonbands. I think the resulting stability of the buttonband is well worth it, and I’ll be finishing my cardigans this way from now on. I may even go back and stabilize some of my older handknits this way.

I had the hardest time choosing buttons for this sweater. None of the colors seemed right! I hope these gray ones work and don’t look overly casual.
Red Knits_EmelieA great cardigan for a great second year in the program. Later this week, I’ll share my plans for PhD Sweater #3.

Pattern:Β Emelie by Elin Berglund
Yarn: 2 3/4 skeins Madelinetosh Tosh Sock in Plaid Blanket
Needles: US 2 & 3 bamboo circulars
Made for: Me
Timeline: 24 January 2014 – 3 March 2015
Modifications: only the finishing techniques
Worst Part: my stitch count for picking up the sleeves must have been off, so I had to do some fudging. I don’t love how they look.
Best Part: the close fit of the finished sweater. I’m getting better at this the more sweaters I knit!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2015 3:12 am

    It looks super πŸ™‚ Well done!

  2. March 14, 2015 12:19 pm

    Wow crazy good!! I love the color of the yarn, the cable eyelet area in the front is so pretty! Love the idea of stabilizing the button band with grosgrain ribbon.

  3. Charlotte permalink
    March 14, 2015 11:29 pm

    Now Cheryl, is that any way to win a “Grand Champion” at the Washington Co. Fair? (lol). I love that colors, & really wish I could do a cable.

    • March 16, 2015 7:38 pm

      Thanks, Char!
      1) Cabling isn’t difficult. I’ll teach you if you want πŸ™‚
      2) These aren’t even real cables! They’re faux cables using cleverly placed increases and decreases. Even easier!

      • Charlotte permalink
        March 24, 2015 10:36 pm

        Let’s try to get together, when you are back next time. I have some of Grandma’s unfinished afghans, that I would like to work on. I know they are made out of your least favorite yarn, but I think it would be fun to finish them.

  4. July 17, 2015 4:40 pm

    You knit so fast and perfectly! Big thumbs up for your work!

    http://youthfulblog.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

