Skip to content

Casting On for Sundottir

March 16, 2015

I’m running a little late on PhD sweater #3, likely because I just wasn’t sure what I wanted to knit next. Last month, I narrowed it down to a few possibilities, all of them pullovers because I realized how heavily skewed my closet is towards cardigans: a basic marled gray, a classic cable, or a wildcard:
SundottirI ended up with the one sweater on my list that wasn’t like the others. This will be Sundottir from Wool People No. 6 out of Imperial Yarn Erin, and it was just too lovely not to knit. The main color of yarn reads a little more gray in real life than in the photo on my monitor, so I think it should be a nice, versatile pullover.

I went back on my “no more worsted weight sweaters” plan for this one, and I’m trying to compensate for that by making every effort to ensure the finished fit is just what I want. I’m using Ysolda’s Little Red in the City as my guide to add some additional shaping that will blend sizes just as I would if I were sewing a top. I’m a little nervous about this since it’s my first time making these alterations, so I really hope it turns out as I’m envisioning.

So far, I’m one skein in and well into the bust increases. Before long, I’ll be ready to cast on for a sleeve.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2015 10:26 am

    I made this sweater last year! It has become a real go-to sweater for me. I loved working it and I love wearing it too! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

