Skip to content

Secret Blanket: M6996

March 19, 2015
tags:

Red Knits_M6996When a new generation of seamstresses discovered sewing with knits, the sewing blogosphere was filled with thrilled bloggers wearing knit dresses as “secret pajamas.”

Secret pajamas are just fine, but I was more interested in finding a secret blanket that I could wear in public. I do a fair amount of my work from home, and I’m always walking around the apartment with a blanket wrapped around me. Since we’ve had a fairly cold winter and I sometimes have to leave my house, I wanted to take a little bit of cozy with me while still looking like I got dressed. McCall’s M6996 in an anti-pill fleece was my answer.
Red Knits_M6996 backMy inspiration was this fleece wrap on the fashion blog Extra Petite. I actually looked at the wrap when it was on sale at Nordstrom, but I didn’t like the quality or the color in person enough to buy it. I went with this pattern based on some online reviews, and I picked up the fleece from JoAnn during one of their huge sales.
Red Knits_M6996The fit isn’t quite perfect, but it will serve its purpose of keeping me cozy while I write and study. Really, it seems like anyone with any sort of hips is going to need the belted version of this cardigan if they don’t want the back waist to look oversized.

In terms of construction, everything was pretty straightforward. The pattern called for some seam binding to use at the center back collar gathers, but it’s totally unnecessary–you can use whatever is lying around. I put this together in an afternoon, so it was a nice, instant gratification project when I was sick of being cold.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2015 4:47 pm

    Looks cozy!

  2. March 23, 2015 9:54 am

    Wow, really like this, definitely looks comfy.

  3. April 1, 2015 10:09 pm

    Love this!

Leave a Reply

