Skip to content

UFO Mondays: Lady Grey update, or, We Have Thin Lips in This Family

April 27, 2015

I have the teeny tiniest update on my Lady Grey coat today.

By the time I felt like working on this coat, there was no way I was going to finish it in time to wear this year. It’s starting to warm up around here (though not this weekend!), and I have my eye on some warm weather sewing to spruce up my wardrobe before I dig into the tailoring. However, with my recent trip home I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to work through the bound buttonholes on this coat with my Make It With Wool Contest national champion sash-wearing mother.
Lady Grey buttonhole placementI didn’t think this would be too difficult of a task, but the very first step, marking the buttonhole placement, proved quite the challenge. The image above is my front pattern piece, and the vertical dashed line is my seamline. As you can see, it cuts off 1/4-3/8″ of the buttonhole, which is miraculously drafted to be in the exact same spot for every size. Had I not already purchased a gorgeous wool that I love and cut out the entire coat, I would have stepped away from this project right then: I’ve been burned by Colette too many times. Luckily, Mom was there to pull me off the ledge and re-mark the buttonhole. It begins at the end of the original buttonhole placement.
Lady Grey bound buttonholesFrom there, things were fiddly but went fairly smoothly. We always use the bound buttonhole method outlined in The Bishop Method of Clothing Construction, and I can’t recommend it highly enough. I’ve seen a lot of handmade bound buttonholes with bulky, thick lips that aren’t very attractive. This method gives us beautiful results with thin lips every time.

Now that this first step is finished, I’m ready to tackle this coat just as soon as I finish up my birthday outfit.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2015 7:09 pm

    I’ve never thought of buttonholes as having lips! Oh the mental images I’ve got now… 🙂

  2. April 28, 2015 7:48 pm

    I know you said you’ve been burned by Colette before (join the club) but I couldn’t find any of those stories on your blog. Just one mention of two of their skirt patterns. Were the experiences that bad that you didn’t blog them? See my blog for my horror stories tagged under Colette.

    • April 28, 2015 8:11 pm

      My worst experience was with the Albion coat last winter, but I was participating in their competition and didn’t want to ruin my chances by criticizing outright. They’re also such a beloved company by so much of the sewing community that I was worried I would ruin my chances of being one of the “cool kids” if I really said what I felt. I certainly didn’t praise that pattern, but I wasn’t forthright with my criticisms either for fear of backlash. I’m over that now when it comes to Colette and anyone else.

      I still have some of their patterns in my collection that I’ve paid good money for and will likely try to use at some point, but they aren’t getting another dime from me.

      Off to read your horror stories now!

Leave a Reply

