Skip to content

My 2015 Birthday Outfit

May 29, 2015

Red Knits_Birthday 2015My whimsical, print mixing birthday outfit is done, and I love it! It wasn’t done in time for my birthday, but it was done with plenty of time to get lots of wear out of these pieces this summer. These pictures were taken in our little container garden, which is really popping up quickly!
Red Knits_Birthday 2015Although I had originally intended to use the Sewaholic Granville blouse for this bicycle print, my muslin needed more tweaking than my patience would allow. Instead, I returned to Vogue 8772. I actually have a lot to say about the adjustments I made to this pattern after my first version last summer, but I’ll save that for another post.
Red Knits_Birthday 2015The skirt is Simplicity 1202. The deep pleats in front and back provide a different take on the typical A-line skirt, and the two piece skirt makes for a great canvas to display an interesting print like this one. The pattern went together very quickly even though I took the time to thread trace the shaped pleats and hand stitch the hem.

I wore this outfit to campus earlier this week, and I really felt like myself in it–it’s just so fun, unique, and put together. The feeling I got from wearing this outfit is what I’m striving for in my handmade wardrobe.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2015 5:47 pm

    Well constructed, I like the print of both items but the skirt especially. The fit is really nice on you, great job and Happy Birthday 🙂

Leave a Reply

