Skip to content

Three Pairs, Even

June 15, 2015

Red Knits_Maritime ShortsFolks, I now have in my wardrobe not one, not two, but three pairs of shorts. Never in my adult life have I ever had more than a single pair of emergency-can’t-get-away-with-anything-more shorts. But now that I’ve moved to a warmer part of the country and found Grainline’s Maritime Shorts, I’m a convert. In fact, I wore one pair of these shorts to campus for a writing session this afternoon, and I was so grateful for them in the heat and humidity we have at the moment.
Red Knits_Maritime ShortsI made these two pairs assembly line style for my Pattern Review summer wardrobe boost project. Even though I had to pause occasionally to change the color of my thread, this worked really well and meant that I still had best practices for the finicky bits–like sewing the fly front–fresh in my mind when I moved on to pair number two.
Red Knits_Maritime ShortsThe pink pair above is made from a stretch cotton twill, and the navy pair is a stretch cotton sateen. I found both fabrics at JoAnn and am quite pleased with them–a little bit of stretch adds so much comfort to these shorts. The bright pink is surprisingly versatile and very fun, and the navy is a step up from your basic jean short. If only it didn’t attract lint so badly!
Red Knits_Maritime ShortsPrecision is so important when it comes to these pockets: one imprecise move, and you have a wonky pocket. Which makes it look like you have a wonky bum!
Red Knits_Maritime ShortsAfter getting a good look at my own bum in these photos, I think I may scoot those pockets a little closer to center next time to flatter a little better…if you know what I mean.
Red Knits_Maritime ShortsI only made one change on these shorts from my first pair, and that’s the hem allowance. The pattern calls for a narrow hem, but I think that a 1″ hem better suits this style. A very easy alteration, to be sure!
Red Knits_Maritime ShortsAnd, for the curious, I’ll leave you with a detail shot. I’ve read that some people have trouble with the fly instructions on this pattern, and there’s actually one image in the instructions that seems to be backwards. The instructions in the sewalong, however, are just fine.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2015 11:03 pm

    I see what you mean about pocket placement, Miss Cheryl, however I wouldn’t worry too much. I really like the pink ones! Still miss our days together at the Harbor…sorren34

  2. June 16, 2015 7:49 am

    Love these! I’ve not yet moved onto trousers but maybe I should start with shorts. It would be a far less waste of fabric!

    • June 16, 2015 10:41 pm

      Well, if you ace these shorts you could just extend the legs and make your first pair of pants! Try it.

      • June 19, 2015 9:12 am

        I totally agree! Shorts allow you to tackle a few fitting areas and the majority of techniques needed for trousers. Once you’re happy with the fit there, you’re better prepared to tackle the rest of the pants. For me, I have a problem area right under my butt, so it’s nice to skip fitting that area on shorts!

  3. October 28, 2015 11:15 am

    Love the pink version! So cute and just a pop of colour to any outfit.

Trackbacks

  1. SOSM Round 1: True Bias Sutton Blouse | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

