Skip to content

Royal Green: Simplicity 2145

June 20, 2015

Red Knits_S2145How has it taken me this long to make a solid green dress? I’m a redhead! Green is our color!

I tend to begin most of my projects, sewing and otherwise, with the pattern or at least a specific garment in mind, but this time I began with the fabric. After seeing so many bloggers rave about scuba knits, I wanted to try one for myself. This was listed as a scuba knit on fabric.com when I ordered it over the winter, but I have a feeling it was miscategorized. The texture and hand weren’t what I expected, but I’m still very happy with how the fabric worked in my version of Simplicity 2145, which I hear is a Project Runway knockoff of Kate Middleton’s engagement dress.
Red Knits_S2145I started with a size 10, but I did so many alterations that I’m honestly not sure what I ended up with. In the front, I added some extra room at the bust, though I may have taken it out later. What I do know is that I eliminated the neckline facings because I’ve read about many people having trouble getting the facings to lie nicely on wrap dresses and had a feeling the same issue would occur here. I simply did a narrow hem before basting together the front bodice split crossover.
Red Knits_S2145In the back, I pulled out a 2″ wedge from the top of the center back to avoid gaping. I was also able to omit the zipper despite the limited stretch of my knit fabric, so I’m guessing it would only be necessary when using a woven. Some pattern reviews indicated that the pleats ended in an odd place, so I waited until I had stitched them all and had a chance to try the dress on before tying them all off. I kept the front pleats at the length on the pattern, but I shortened the back pleats by 1 1/2″.
Red Knits_S2145This is certainly the fanciest garment in my “casual coffee dates” summer wardrobe boost, but I think it’s a dress that can work for a lot of different situations. It’s an easy care fabric, so I see no reason not to wear it to an actual coffee date, but it could also be dressed up quite a bit with fancier shoes and jewelry for something like a wedding. Another versatile garment for my handmade, versatile wardrobe!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. barefootrooster permalink
    June 20, 2015 11:12 pm

    This is GORGEOUS! Lovely, lovely work.

  2. June 21, 2015 12:11 am

    Love the color and LOVE the design! You’re totally rocking it!

  3. June 21, 2015 4:29 am

    I love this! Wonderful colour and it fits you perfectly 🙂

    • June 21, 2015 6:36 pm

      Thank you! It’s just a matter of replicating the fit if I make this pattern again 🙂 I did it once by trial and error, so I’m sure I can do it again!

  4. Red's Mom permalink
    June 21, 2015 9:53 pm

    You’re a redhead? Your indignant, twelve-year-old self would beg to differ! I’m pretty sure I remember you being very adamant about being called a strawberry blond…although the green looks awesome on you no matter what color you consider your hair to be!

  5. June 24, 2015 9:02 am

    What a lovely dress! The color is sublime and the fit is perfection.

    • June 25, 2015 9:34 am

      What a compliment! Thank you so much! I was excited to see that you’re also in the Sewing Match, Tanya–yours is the only blog I had read before.

Trackbacks

  1. Meet the Contestants! Super Online Sewing Match II | Sew Mama Sew | Outstanding sewing, quilting, and needlework tutorials since 2005.

Leave a Reply

