Skip to content

Sporty Stripes: McCall’s 6711

June 23, 2015

Red Knits_M6711Hi there! If you’ve made your way over from the Sew Mama Sew Super Online Sewing Match contestant announcement post, welcome to my blog! I call it Red Knits because it began as a knitting blog, but now I spend just as much time on sewing and also post about the odd craft project here and there. I am so excited to be a contestant amongst such a talented group of women, and I’m enjoying the calm before the first challenge begins tomorrow.

This dress is a version of McCall’s 6711, one of those wardrobe patterns that also includes a blazer, pants, skirt, and a top. Even though the pattern calls for wovens, I made it up in a blue and green striped knit that was just begging to be a casual summer dress.
Red Knits_M6711There is some “visual interest” in the back stripe placement that’s really just a side effect of my stripe matching. I was able to stripe match throughout the majority of the dress, and I also eliminated several seams by cutting on the fold, but when it was time to cut the back bodice piece I simply didn’t have a large enough piece of fabric left to cut with horizontal stripes. This fabric has a four way stretch, and there’s obviously plenty of ease in the blouson style, so it worked out just fine and, I think, looks pretty cute.
Red Knits_M6711Since I was sewing with a knit rather than the woven the pattern called for, I selected my size by holding the back yoke piece up to my shoulders. I’m so glad I did, because I ended up using a much smaller size than usual, and I think I would do so even if I had gone with a woven.
Red Knits_M6711My only other alteration was hacking a few inches off of the hem. Although I didn’t take any inside shots, the instructions lead to a nice, clean finish.

I’ve already worn this dress out for drinks with friends under a white denim jacket, and I know it will continue to get a lot of use all summer long.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2015 4:21 am

    I have indeed found your blog from the Sewing Match contestant announcement – and I’m glad I did!
    I really like this dress, especially the stripe placement on the back (I’d pretend it was intentional!), and it looks like it will be a really comfy summer dress for you.
    Good luck for the Sewing Match!

  2. June 24, 2015 10:47 am

    Just great! What a great wardrobe staple!

Leave a Reply

