Skip to content

Missoni-esque

July 20, 2015

Red Knits_MissoniesqueIt’s about time we chat about some knitting here at Red Knits, don’t you think? I continue to knit away, but I do spend more time at the sewing machine these days. The finished garments that I sew are the ones I need for my lifestyle lately, so the knitting doesn’t move along as quickly as it used to. Red Knits_MissoniesqueI bought a skein of Noro Silk Garden Sock back when I was still working at the yarn shop and the Missoni for Target line was a big deal. Yeah, it’s been a while. I had chevrons on my mind, and I planned to use my skein of Noro to knit up a La Parisienne beret for myself.

A few years later and an inch or two into this hat, when I was probably somewhere above the Midwest on my way home after finishing my exams, I realized that I wasn’t knitting my hat. It turns out that this hat was really meant for one of my friends here in Pittsburgh, a woman I hadn’t even met when I first dreamed up this project. This hat is much better suited to her, both in style and in sizing, so please forgive the photos because it’s a little big on me.
Red Knits_MissoniesqueStitch patterns like these are so much fun to knit because they are so easy to work but look impressive, especially to non-knitters. This one was even easier because I didn’t have to choose two complementary colorways: I just worked from either end of my Noro, letting it do its thing.

This pattern is a freebie (link below), and it’s overall pretty good. Just watch out for the “slip 2, k1, p2sso.” In order to get a nice center line, you need to slip those first two stitches together as one and pass them over the knit stitch as one. If not, you won’t have a clear line going down the middle of the chevron.Red Knits_MissoniesquePattern: La Parisienne by Caroline Hegwer (free on her blog)
Yarn: just over 1/2 skein Noro Silk Garden Sock S211
Needles: US 2 & 3 Susan Bates 16″ circs and dpns
Made for: B
Timeline: April 1-23 2015
Modifications: I think I added about an inch to the body of the hat, so it may have some extra slouch
Worst Part: that I didn’t have quite enough yarn to make a second hat
Best Part: watching the color progression unfold

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ines permalink
    July 21, 2015 1:17 am

    Oh my I so love Noro yarns the colors are so incredible ( yes Missoni esque which also are beautiful). Lushious hat, grest job!

  2. July 21, 2015 8:52 am

    Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

