Skip to content

Henry, PhD (with a twist)

September 14, 2015

Red Knits_Henry PhD ScarfAnother dear friend now has a few extra letters behind his name. J has been giving me unsolicited advice about life, the universe, grad school, and everything since I first began my PhD program. He’s not had the easiest path, but he graduated this summer, headed south for a tenure-track Assistant Professorship at what sounds like a lovely college, and recently came back to present his dissertation research. The department, grad program, and writing group just aren’t the same without him, and I wanted to make him a little something by way of congratulations. Red Knits_Henry PhD ScarfI was really excited to use this pattern for J because he has such great taste in menswear, but I can’t say I recommend it. The stitch pattern is lovely (though it could do with a chart). However, the edging just is not working. The slipped stitch pattern pulls the fabric inwards, so there’s quite a bit of rippling on the edges. The designer has attempted to remedy this with a complex provisional caston and tubular bindoff, but from the looks of things on ravelry, that’s not really working. I just did a regular caston and bindoff in a smaller needle size because that had worked for some, but there’s still a lot of rippling here. I also did a garter edging on the short edges with slipped stitches at the beginning of each row, and that also rippled. I think the problem was actually exacerbated by my blocking wires, and I probably should have just patted it down flat to dry. I don’t think it’s quite as noticeable in real life as it is in the image above, so hopefully J likes it.
Red Knits_Henry PhD ScarfThose shots of electric blue aren’t included in the pattern. J tends to wear really bright socks with his slim-cut trousers and dress shoes, so I wanted to add a bit of fun and quirk to an otherwise fairly traditional scarf. He loved this detail when I pointed it out to him and immediately showed me the socks he wore for his presentation. They were awesome.

Pattern: Henry by Marieke Sattler in Knitty Fall 2007
Yarn: 1.5 skeins Berroco Vintage DK in 2107 Cracked Pepper and scrap yarn for contrast
Needles: US 5 & 6 Addi Lace
Made for: J
Timeline: 4-30 August 2015
Modifications: modified for DK weight yarn and adjusted edging
Worst Part: the edging. the slogging through long rows. not my favorite knit
Best Part: giving J a little something to remember us by

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

