Skip to content

Fall is in the Air

October 1, 2015

Red Knits_PSL FeverIt’s finally starting to feel like fall around here, and I’m thrilled.

I have been all about the knitting lately after few years of reduced mojo. That’s partially because of the changing seasons, but also because I’ve found a whole new knitting community through podcasts and videocasts. It used to be that my blog reader was full of inspirational knitting, but it seems like a lot of those bloggers aren’t posting anymore. My dear friend K, who I get to see in person this weekend, was nice enough to send me a list of her favorite podcasts, and I’m hooked!

I’ve also rediscovered the Harry Potter Knitting and Crochet House Cup, and I’m playing along for my first time as a not-quite-first-year. It’s so much fun to gamify knitting and be part of another enthusiastic community of makers. I don’t typically make little projects, but I was inspired to make the pumpkin spice coffee cozy you see above and turn it in for a September class.

Speaking of coffee cozies, I wanted to thank you for knitting up my Twisted Coffee Cozy pattern over the years. I get lots of hits on that post, so I know people are checking it out, which feels good even though I have no higher design aspirations at this point. Red Knits_Mama VertebraeOctober promises to be an exciting knitting month. Just this afternoon, I cast on for a Mama Vertebrae for my friend J. I don’t typically knit full sweaters for friends, but I’m making a special exception here because J is a close friend, she’s expecting her first baby, and, get this, she has never had anything handmade. I have to fix this. She braved the LYS with me yesterday and picked out some Berroco Vintage in a lovely shade of red that will look great on her and mix well with her maternity wardrobe.

If there’s a baby on the way, you’d better believe I’m going to knit for it! We’re throwing J a baby shower at the end of the month, and I’d like to do a small layette with a cardigan, hat or bonnet, and booties. I haven’t chosen any of those patterns yet, and I’m hoping to pick out yarn this weekend at my former LYS, so suggestions are very much welcome!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 3, 2015 11:27 pm

    You are a sweet friend! Everyone should have something handmade.

Leave a Reply

