Skip to content

Fehr Trade Workout Gear, Round 2

October 20, 2015

Red Knits_Fehr TradeMy last post was a detailed review of an involved project, and in this post I have a quick update on some patterns I’ve enjoyed and made up again. I liked my test versions of the Fehr Trade XYT top and Steeplechase leggings so much that I made some more of them to wear to my Zumba classes.

I made very few changes from my test version, but I did think of one. Since these clothes are meant to withstand lots of movement and washing rather than look super professional, I used a three step zig zag for my hems and waistband elastic. I’m sure that the twin needle works well on some machines, but on mine it just doesn’t stretch enough to work on tight fitting clothes like this.
Red Knits_Steeplechase LeggingsThe leggings are exactly the same as my first pair–same pattern with no adjustments and same fabric from Fabric.com–except that I added some gray flat piping. Adding this little accentuation of the design lines makes these capris feel even sportier, and it wasn’t all that difficult to do.
Red Knits_XYT topI thought I had purchased just enough fabric for two pairs of capris, but I had a fair amount left over (though not enough for a third pair of capris, or I totally would have done that). I was able to get another entire “Y” tank out of the leftovers as well as some pieces to mix and match. It’s not the most exciting top, but it will certainly come in handy.
Red Knits_XYT topI shook things up a bit by making some “X” tops, too. They would look sharper without my sports bra poking through the back, and there is an option to include a bra in the tank itself, but I’m not ready to give up the support and padding just yet! This top has a front and X made out of leftovers from a wrap dress that I’m hoping to photograph and share later this week, and the bottom back made from the leggings leftovers.
Red Knits_XYT topFinally, this one is made from leftovers from a top I made last fall. If you’re really eagle-eyed, you may even notice that I’ve used slightly different widths of elastic on the top above: I just couldn’t be bothered to go out and buy new elastic when what I had on hand was close enough. This whole set of workout gear–three tops and one bottom–didn’t require purchasing any materials at all, which makes me feel pretty good.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Inés permalink
    October 21, 2015 12:39 am

    These look terrific! Great job, cost wise it looks like a big save? Is it? I’ve never purchased this kind of fabric or pattern so I wonder. It seems like it would be a huge save.

    • October 22, 2015 12:38 pm

      Yes, I would say so. When I originally bought the leggings fabric, I think it was around $6 a yard from fabric.com, and obviously the leftover scraps weren’t any additional cost. Perhaps if I was doing some sort of serious training, I would want more of a performance fabric, but these poly knits are working just fine for my purposes.

Leave a Reply

