Skip to content

M6884 ITY Wrap Dress

October 22, 2015

Red Knits_M6884Despite all of the time I spend at the ironing board when making garments and the fact that I don’t really mind ironing my clothes, I do get a certain sense of satisfaction when I can toss something on without having to iron it. I’ve been keeping my eyes open for nice ITY knits for just that kind of garment, and I was happy to find this black and gray one in the clearance section of JoAnn a while back.
Red Knits_M6884I made the ruched version of M6884 with short sleeves, and it seems I wasn’t thinking clearly when selecting a size. I always work off of finished garment measurements, but I think I completely spaced on the fact that I was using a knit which would stretch rather than a woven that would not. Next time, I’ll go down a size on this pattern, but the tie around the back sucks things in, and I did pull in the hips substantially, so it’s quite wearable.
Red Knits_M6884I didn’t make a muslin for this pattern, which would have revealed these fit issues, but I did take a preemptive 1″ swayback adjustment, which was probably a good idea. I also used some of my go-to knitwear products. I reinforced my shoulder seams with clear elastic and used it on the neckline to keep it from gaping, and I used Wonder Tape at the hem.
Red Knits_M6884This is one of those projects that’s an imperfect make but still a very welcome addition to my wardrobe. I wore it to work earlier this semester and got lots of compliments 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 25, 2015 9:59 am

    Nice dress! Your fit issues don’t show at all.

Leave a Reply

