Skip to content

Layette

October 31, 2015

Red Knits_LayetteOne of my closest friends here in Pittsburgh is expecting her first baby, a little, girl, and I couldn’t be more excited! I worked together with another of her friends to throw a baby shower last weekend, so of course I had to make some handknits for the occasion. I tried to combine the adorable with the practical by knitting this layette and pairing it with some cotton long sleeved onesies and leggings.
Red Knits_LayetteI found myself a bit paralyzed with indecision when it came to choosing patterns for this layette. I knew I wanted to make a sweater, hat, and booties, but there are just so many cute baby patterns out there, and I’m so excited for my friend, that I wanted to knit all of them. Luckily, the planning stage of this project coincided with a trip to the LYS I used to work at, so I was able to get help from J, a current LYS worker and mom of three. She recommended In Threes, a short sleeved cardigan that won’t get gunked up quite so easily and should fit for a long time.
Red Knits_LayetteThis sweater was a quick and pleasant knit, especially since there were no sleeves to get bogged down in. The buttons were a bit problematic because the pattern doesn’t list a recommended size and I managed to forget to bring along the nearly-finished sweater to the store, but these silver 5/8″ buttons worked well.
Red Knits_LayetteBaby C will be born around the end of November, so I made the 0-6 month size with minimal modifications. I cast on an extra stitch on each side for a slipped stitch edging, and I worked an extra pattern repeat of garter stitch at the bottom for symmetry and so that this cardigan will fit longer. This pattern goes up to a size 5, so it’s a good buy if you have growing or multiple kiddos to knit for.
Red Knits_LayetteOnce I had settled on a cardigan pattern, the rest of the layette came together fairly easily. I love the look of the Amanda hat, and I had knit the adult size before, so I decided to work up the baby version.
Red Knits_LayetteUnfortunately, in the years since I knit the last one, I had forgotten that, while I love the look of the stitch pattern, I don’t really like knitting it. At least it was baby sized–I had it done in an evening!
Red Knits_LayetteThe last piece of the layette was the pair of baby booties. As I was choosing all of these patterns, it was really important to me that they were not only cute, but also very functional and easy for new, exhausted parents to use. I chose the Dreamy Baby Booties pattern because they look like they have a chance of staying on.
Red Knits_LayetteThe construction of these booties is interesting, and part of that is a double-thick cuff. I was a little worried I would run out of yarn, but I managed to finish them off.
Red Knits_LayetteThe entire layette was knit in two skeins of Plymouth Encore Colorspun #7767, using nearly all of it. Obviously, washability was the most important factor when I chose yarn, and Encore holds up beautifully in the washer and dryer. But when Mama-to-be J was at the LYS choosing her Mama Vertebrae yarn, she was interested in vareigated yarns, so I thought this would be a fun way to show her how they work.

Both Mama and Baby are doing well so far, though Mama can’t wait to consume some carbs after Baby C makes her arrival. I can’t wait to meet this little one!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 1, 2015 7:52 pm

    I really like the color. Not traditional pink and blue. I have so much trouble deciding on colors for babies items. But this is just adorable. Thanks for sharing. CJ Davis Snugglebugg Knits

Leave a Reply

