Skip to content

Wool Party (Winter Break Sewing, pt. 1)

December 1, 2015

My sense of how much sewing and knitting time I have over my upcoming winter break from teaching is entirely delusional, and I have a huge list of things I’d like to get through. It’s easy for me to spin my wheels when faced with a long list (even when that list is for a hobby!) and get absolutely nothing done, so I’ve split up my projects by type to give myself a sense of focus. First up: the wool.
S1499This knockoff J.Crew vest using Simplicity 1499 is a UFO that I’ve picked up and put down a few times since spring. I chose to quilt the vest myself rather than using a pre-quilted fabric like the pattern recommends. That seemed like a good idea, but my machine was just not equipped to do the quilting, and I was super frustrated. The vest went into time out until I could use my mom’s sewing machine and walking foot to do the quilting in August. Now it just needs a whole bunch of fiddly bias tape. I’m part way through this step now, and it’s one of those sewing tasks that needs to be done a little bit at a time to avoid pitching the whole project in the corner.
Lady GreyAh, Lady Grey. This coat project has traveled with me through more household moves than I would like to count. I need this project out of my sewing area and in my closet. It’s all cut out, and the bound buttonholes are done. The tailoring really doesn’t look too challenging, so my hope is that it will be smooth sailing from here on out.
UntitledThis should be the quickest and simplest of my wool projects. It’s a beautiful wool plaid in pink, red, yellow, and black that will be a nice addition to my wardrobe. I’m using Butterick 5619, a pattern I dug out of my stash and that I’m hoping will be simple enough to showcase the plaid and allow me to match them.
UntitledNot all the wool around here is for me. Steve asked for a vest he can wear to job interviews and other fancy events, and I picked out this brown wool with a crepe texture for him. We’ll match it up with Vogue 8987. I haven’t even begun the fitting project on this one, and his torso was a challenge when we fit his button-down shirt: wish us luck!

Well, that sounds like a good month’s worth of sewing in itself, and there’s still plenty more on my list! Luckily, working from home means much less time making myself look presentable, packing up my stuff, and hauling myself into campus. More time to sew 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 2, 2015 5:25 pm

    Some great sounding projects here!

Leave a Reply

