Skip to content

Damask for Dr. J

December 6, 2015
tags:

Red Knits_DamaskWhen I first met my friend J (not the J I knit a sweater for. and not the J I knit socks for, either. there are lots of “J” friends in my life), I had just moved to Pittsburgh and started orientation at my new university. J was so incredibly nice that I actually asked someone else if she was really that nice–certainly no one could really be that nice, right? Wrong. J may actually be the kindest person I have ever known, and I am so lucky to have her as a friend.

J has been completing her dissertation from a distance, so I don’t get to see her as often as I used to, though I know she’s always just a text or email away. She recently returned to defend her dissertation and is now officially a PhD! In my world, that means a celebratory knitted gift.
Red Knits_DamaskJ can pull off fancier accessories and is a knitter herself, so I thought she would be the perfect recipient for Damask, a shawl pattern I had been itching to knit but wasn’t sure I would wear. I knit the smallest size so that I wouldn’t have to break into a second skein of yarn, and I think it’s still plenty big. This shawl is one of the few that I’ve knit with a bottom-up construction, meaning that you have to cast on a whole bunch of stitches at the beginning of the project, but each row gets a little bit shorter from there.

I felt like treating myself a bit when I shopped for this yarn, so I also bought a pair of ChiaoGoo Red Lace needles that I absolutely loved working with. Hopefully you can see from the image above that there are plenty of nupps in this pattern, and the pointy tips of the ChiaoGoos made them easy.
Red Knits_DamaskPattern: Damask by Kitman Figueroa
Yarn: 1 skein Lorna’s Laces Solemate in #1213 Rippey
Needles: US 6 ChiaoGoo Red Lace
Made for: J
Timeline: 25 September – 24 October 2015
Modifications: none
Worst Part: wrangling the many pages of this pattern
Best Part: this was a really enjoyable knit, especially on a late but empty flight to MN in October

Since I know J will read this, “hello from Pittsburgh! we miss you!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2015 11:51 pm

    Beautiful. What a nice congratulatory gift!

  2. December 7, 2015 6:57 am

    Absolutely lovely! I’ve been wanting to knit a new shawl pattern for the longest time…this might be the inspiration that I need 😉

Leave a Reply

