Skip to content

Hey There, 2016

January 16, 2016

We really got the year off to a good start with a trip to see family and friends in Minnesota immediately followed by the beginning of a new semester. I spent plenty of time during my winter break sewing and knitting, but I was having way too much fun making stuff to stop, photograph, and blog about it. Needless to say, I have a whole list of things to share around here.

2015  was pretty darn good. We traveled to DisneyWorld, Minnesota (x3), Montreal, and Indiana, and I presented my work at some more exciting conferences. I passed my comprehensive exams, advancing to candidacy, and selected a committee of dissertation readers who will really push me to do my best work. We celebrated our friends’ weddings and babies. We had visits from some of our favorite people. We went to some awesome concerts.

It was a great year for knitting and sewing, too. I was selected to be a contestant on the Super Online Sewing Match, and I’ve continued to build my handmade wardrobe. In total, I completed 65 projects including 4 adult sweaters. Those numbers are up, and they’ll likely continue to rise as I play along in the Harry Potter Knitting & Crochet House Cup for fake internet points.
GeorgetownSpeaking of the House Cup, my first OWL has been approved (a 2-3 month project for extra fake internet points), and it’s also my 4th year PhD sweater. I’ve got a whole dissertation to write, so this year I wanted to knit a cozy cardigan that would go with just about anything. It had to be easy to toss on and cuddle up in but also look presentable when writing at a coffee shop or meeting profs on campus. It had to be warm enough for a Minnesota winter (lest we move back to the homeland this year) but not so warm that it couldn’t be worn in fall or spring.

I found myself completely torn between four beautiful cardigans but ultimately went with my original choice. I’m knitting Georgetown by Hannah Fettig in heathered gray Cascade 220. I just cast on the back today after doing a bunch of simple math to determine my fit alterations, and I’m enjoying it so far.

Here’s to a new year of happy hands and beautiful makes!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2016 10:57 am

    Georgetown will be a great sweater (especially for extra fake internet points)! *added to favorites*

  2. January 18, 2016 5:28 pm

    Georgetown is a great choice, it can also work as an easy substitute blazer when needed.

Trackbacks

  1. March WIPs | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

