Skip to content

Yellow Raincoat Girl

November 3, 2011

A few years back, Katie was convinced that she should make herself a yellow raincoat and asked my mom for advice on finding materials and construction. My mother, practical seamstress that she is, wrote back with a very thorough description of exactly why she should not make a raincoat and should go out and buy one instead. Perhaps one of them can post the original email in the comments–I can’t seem to find my copy, but it was hilarious.

Katie was wise enough to listen to my mom, and she never did attempt that yellow raincoat. So when I saw this embroidery design on Feeling Stitchy, I knew that I needed to stitch it up for her.

I put this yellow raincoat girl onto a small khaki tote bag. After all, if there’s one thing that knitters/readers can’t have too many of, it’s tote bags! Katie may not be able to have her yellow raincoat, but she can have this little design to remind her of her ideal raincoat, even when there’s not a cloud in the sky.

No comments yet

Leave a comment