Skip to content

The Start of Something Dangerous

October 7, 2013

UntitledSo I guess I make bow ties now. Sweetie was in town for the weekend, and he asked me on Friday afternoon if it would be possible to make him a bow tie to wear to a friend’s party that night. 
UntitledI didn’t want to disappoint, so I got googling and found this tutorial on Sew Like My Mom. For this first one, we used some fabric I had on hand that’s actually waiting to be made into a Negroni. I’m gonna be really pissed if there’s not enough after cutting into it for this bow tie!
UntitledThis first attempt may not be perfect, but it was so darn quick! I even had time to stitch in this little heart before we had to get ready for the party.
UntitledHe’s all about this new dapper look–the shorter hair, the vest, the bow tie. He actually wore this one out both nights this weekend. We took these pictures after we had gone out to an art opening and wanted to look extra snazzy.
UntitledAnd that’s exactly why this is so dangerous–I just can’t say no when he’s so excited and we’ve seen most bow ties in stores going for around $40. We ran to the fabric store this weekend, and he’s already picked out fabric for another four designs (which were about $1.25 a piece!). And that’s not including my other good friends (mostly swing dancers) who would also love some bow ties. I don’t want to say this blog is going to turn into “Red Makes Bow Ties,” but there certainly could be a problem around here…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    October 8, 2013 8:34 pm

    He is indeed a dapper chap!

  2. Charlotte permalink
    October 31, 2013 7:54 pm

    What a handsome guy!

Leave a comment