Skip to content

Knitting for Good

July 6, 2010

Knits for charity seemed to take up all of my knitting time last week.

Caps for Caleb has been a huge project for our knitters recently, and I had been meaning to contribute for some time. But when the local news visited the LYS to talk to us about it, I knew that I’d better get my needles clicking.
According to the yarn requirements on the pattern, I should have been able to get three hats out of the three skeins of Encore that I purchased. In this case the overestimation was a good thing, as I was able to make and donate six hats.
I even found a matching business card design in Microsoft Publisher to make up care tags for the caps. Hopefully they’ll go to good homes and raise some money for Caleb.

Pattern: Little Flap Cap (Cabin Fever #109)
Yarn: 1 skein each of Plymouth Encore #960, #1317, and #0450
Needles: US 7 Harmony bamboo 16″ circular and Susan Bates Quicksilver dpns
Made for: Caps for Caleb
Timeline: June 25-July 5, 2010
Modifications: added another two rows to the garter st portion to prevent rolling
Worst Part: i-cord ties
Best Part: this pattern is addicting!

Shortly after jumping into Caps for Caleb, I learned that there was to be a silent auction for a coworker’s son this week and they could use donations. I wasn’t sure that I could finish something in time, but decided to pick up some Noro Silk Garden Sock with which to knit my favorite quick-but-stunning piece, the Chevron Scarf.
Believe me when I say that my crummy iphone photo doesn’t come close to doing this scarf justice. It’s so beautiful and it really didn’t take long to knit.

Pattern: Chevron Scarf from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts by Joelle Hoverson
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden Sock #S292
Needles: US 5 Plymouth bamboo 24″ circular (knit flat)
Made for: silent auction
Timeline: June 30-July 5, 2010
Modifications: Used only one colorway of yarn, allowing the Noro to take care of the color changes
Worst Part: Making a mistake because “Serenity” distracted me
Best Part: Hopefully this will raise some money for a worthwhile cause

I’m so happy to have been able to donate my handknitting to both of these fundraisers, but now it’s time to get back to my own projects, which have been waiting patiently all week.

Leave a comment