Skip to content

NaKniSweMo 2015

November 2, 2015

What is it about November that makes us want to take on personal challenges? There’s National Novel Writing Month (#nanowrimo), which I think started the trend, Academic Writing Month (#AcWriMo), which I’m participating in this year, and, of course National Knit-a-Sweater-in-a-Month (#NaKniSweMo). I’ve participated in the past, and I’m sorely tempted by the beautiful swatches and sweaters cropping up on Instagram, but I’ve decided to do something a little different this month: I have a few sweaters underway, and I want to finish and/or make significant progress on them rather than starting something new.
UntitledThe most urgent of these is my Mama Vertebrae for J, who could deliver any day now. She’s got some big changes ahead, and I bet she could use a cozy new sweater for a bit of comfort. I’ve finished the body as well as the neckband, which I chose to knit before working the sleeves because I’m a little worried about yardage. Now it’s full speed ahead on those sleeves. J wanted both the torso and the sleeves pretty long, so I’m not sure how long these will take me to knit, but it’s nice, easy knitting for when I’m watching TV or chatting on the phone.
UntitledNext up is a Baby Vertebrae for Baby C. What? You didn’t think I’d leave it at a single baby sweater, did you? What if she gets cold?? This is a tiny version of the sweater J wanted to have, except we couldn’t find the right shade of yellow for her. It’s such a difficult color, but babies can pull of anything! I’d love to have this done in time for Baby C’s arrival, but she could show up any day now, and I haven’t cast on yet. We’ll see who wins.
UntitledLast, but certainly not least, is my long-term WIP: a Dale of Norway Whistler for Mom. And Mom, since I know you’re going to read this post: 1) it looks lumpy because it hasn’t been blocked yet–nothing to worry about once I beat it with a spoon, and 2) I promise that maple leaf isn’t going to be two-toned; I’m duplicate stitching the darker shade.
UntitledI actually had thought I was finished with the body of this sweater, but it turns out I had just set it aside to work on the more portable sleeve. Whoops! This one is destined to make it under the Christmas tree this year, so it’s time to get back to work now that the temperatures are a little cooler and my thoughts have turned to colorwork. The finishing work on ski sweaters is no joke, so I may not finish this one in November, but I’d like to make a solid dent.

Happy sweater season!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2015 2:29 am

    Hi! I too am using November to finish up and make progress on my knitting. To that end I’ve joined NAKNITMO – here the aim is to set a goal to knit a certain number of stitches for November rather than any particular garment. As well as it being incentivising, I’m finding it really interesting to see how much I actually knit of a given project in a certain amount of time.

  2. November 3, 2015 11:48 am

    Beautiful I love the blue I’ve been wanting to make a sweater for my grand daughter I think this month is the perfect time. Thanks for sharing. #snugglebuggknits.com

  3. November 4, 2015 4:12 pm

    You are knitting some great patterns here. I’m joing NaKniSweMo for the first time. I’m not going to pressure myself to finish by the end of the month tho. As long as it’s ready by STITCHES West, I’m cool’ w/that.

  4. November 5, 2015 6:11 am

    What a great idea! I think I’ve got a couple I could finish up too 😉

Trackbacks

  1. November is for Writing | jesstothefuture

Leave a comment